Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I agree. I think that government should spend more money in support of the arts instead of supporting athletics such as state-sponsored Olympics teams. Below are three reasons to supply my claim.

First of all, government cares about reputation, and standing up for the arts can help them establish good fame. Take my country, Taipei, as an example. The government of Taipei dedicated the most of expenditure ten years ago to build an art museum and protected a variety of old arts from being destroyed. It goes without saying that it's an adventurous and huge move in the modern city. Thus, people from all over the world came to visit the prestigious cite in Taipei. As a result, by constructing the art museum, Taipei government acquired a world-known and global-recognized reputation.

Second, government places emphasis on citizen's amusement in leisure time, and buttressing for the arts may enable residents to have a better life. For example, my parents always have a desire to visit some arts museums during the weekends. To elaborate, with the funding from governments, there is no denying that art museums can elevate to another level such as digital paintings, 3D pictures etc. Therefore, all citizens have this chance to have a better visual enjoyment. Apparently, it would become a nice and comfortable state where people want to live in.

Last but not least, budget control is always a big concern for government, but supporting athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams would cost an arm and a leg. For instance, the expenses of all the athletes such as training fee, coach fee, equipment fee or even the meals fee are totally a huge number. Accordingly, with the limited budget, the government cannot take the risk to cover the money which is unstable and hard to count. On the other hand, building an art museum is an one-off expense money. That is, after opening the place, it remains the maintenance fee in the future. It won't cost as much as supporting the athletics.

In sum, I firmly believe that governments should spend more money in support of the arts, as governments consider factors such as reputation, quality of citizen's lifestyle and budget control. All of these can be satisfied with standing for the arts, while I am not certain supporting athletics alone can do the same.