Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no doubt that throughout history young people depend on their parents specially to make decisions. The effect of parents on their children in this way has played a pivotal role in all societies. Due to this importance, scholars have tried to evaluate the amount of this kind of depending and its performance for many years. A controversial question which is often raised regarding this idea is whether young people are better able to make decisions on their own nowadays or not. I personally contend that by improving the amount of knowledge today people can make decision much easier and more independently. To substantiate my point of view, the following paragraphs represent a cursory glance at the most outstanding reasons.

The fist noteworthy point regarding the issue is that in the past the level of knowledge of each person was lower than today. As a result, the children would be more dependent on the experience of their parents. They needed their parents help in most of their issues to make a proper decision.

Another reason which deserves some words here is that people nowadays can establish an independent life in early age. For instance, they can have their own apartment and live far away from their parents in the age of eighteen when they start their academic studies at university. Also the society accepts this change much easier than before. However, in the past the children would live with their parents until they were married. So, they did not have the change to tackle the problems on their own and they could not expertise the in-dependency.

The last but not the least reason by which the claim is justified is that children these days have more self-confidence and this will help them to take risks and make the decisions on their own. Although there might be some failure in their work, they will at least learn how to face with such problems in further by trial and error. Obtaining expertise by themselves will help them to understand thing deeper and act much better in solving the next problems. To illustrate, I would like to mention the available statistics about the issue. According to statistics, 70% of 18-year-old children can choose a better field of study for their university degree on their own compered to children lived 100 years ago. The issue of choosing a field of study is the most importance comment decision can be made by children in that age.

The issue of making decision by depending on your parents is then, perhaps ironically, a thoroughly modern one the spectrum of global development problems. Above all, I concur with the opinion that the amount of dependency on parents in making decision by children is decreasing nowadays. Besides the aforementioned reasons, there may be other important factors that could be evaluated. This is an area where all countries have much to learn and much to offer.