Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the past, it is quite common that children made decisions largely depending on the help from their parents. Their parents decide which universities they choose, which major is good for them, even strongly influence how they choose a spouse. However, this situation has changed nowadays. Based on the following reasons, I agree that young people are now more capable to make decisions about their own lives.

With fast technology development, societies and industries have changed at a much faster pace. That means knowledge learned from two years or three years ago may not be worked today. Therefore, parents who are more experienced and knowledgeable than their children will no longer have edge over them. Their roles as an instructor have fad away by the rapid change. Young people are forced to face a challenge with less help from parents and have to decide with their strength.

Fortunately, the emerging and development of Internet offer strong support to young people, which they could not enjoy in the past. The Internet provides various information necessary for decision making. For example, if you have to choose a summer school program offered by a wide range of universities, you no longer need to turn to your parents for help. Typing the name of a program in a search engine, you will find information just in one click, having access to answers to all your doubts. These convenient and easily accessible sources enable young people to acquire knowledge that was difficult to collect at their parent’s age.

Even if online information does little help to decision making, one can still opt for a training course, offered by professionals and experts, both online and offline. Different from the online information, usually fragmented, training course normally provides participants with a systematic solution so that they will have a panoramic view of a specific area, a solid and indispensable instruction for decision making. Last year, I was wondering if I should open a WeChat blog. I could find the answer only if I knew how difficult it was to maintain a blog and what skills were required. So I took a training class online. With the help of knowledge I learned from that class, I weighed the pros and cons and made a decision.

To sum up, with the help of rich information on the Internet and professional training courses, young people are more capable to choose their own lives than they were in the past.