Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better to use printed material such as books and articles to do research than it is to use the internet.

Simultaneously with the advent of the computers and the internet, a debate has been going on among people over whether or not it is beneficial to leave our daily equipment like notebooks and pens and rely only on electronic devices. A practical application of computers and the internet is researching. Some people, mainly older people, believe that books should be still the basis of our research, while many people are of the opinion that the internet has made it easier and better. I strongly believe that the internet is a better way to research because it brings the benefit of easy, fast, and up-to-date access to a global database.

To begin with, it takes months to publish hard-copies of newly accepted scientific papers, while they are available on the net the day after being accepted. Take me, a hard-working researcher in solid mechanics, as an example. Last year, I started to work on a project about the effects of nano-fillers introduced into a polymeric matrix. Since I was a newbie, I started to consult accepted theses in my university. After months, I could find nothing really noteworthy. However, one of my friends taught me how to research on Scholar Google. I was able to research among the most up-to-date papers. Merely in one month, I collected a substantial amount of information about my project.

In addition, printed versions of books or articles may not be in our access or they can be painfully time-consuming to find and to read, while these days most people, especially students, have easy, fast access to the internet. To illustrate, during my project, many times, I needed to find out about a fact or a problem while I was in the laboratory where it was very far from the center library of the university. Sometimes, it was at night and no one had access to the library. Whereas, I could consult the internet to discover the facts or the probable causes underlying the problems.

In conclusion, I argue that the internet and computers have been an asset to the community of scholars and researchers because of their many merits. These days, reaching resources of information has been made much easier, faster and more up-to-date than before.