Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people believe that it is important to understand ideas and concepts than to learn facts and others believe the vice versa. In my opinion understanding ideas and concepts is more important than learning facts. Understanding ideas and concepts acts as a platform in the development of an individual and helps an individual to solve problems in real life. However, I also feel that one must spend quality time on understanding the significance of facts. The learning of a student must depend on understanding ideas and concepts for various reasons.

First, understanding the ideas and concepts helps an individual to get a better outlook of the subject. If we understand the ideas and concepts then we can apply them in various problems and come up with better solutions. Consider for instance the field of engineering. The field of engineering is filled with concepts and ideas, once we start understanding them we can apply them to solve real life problems that are modelled into engineering problems. If we spend more of our time in learning facts than understanding concepts then we won't be able to solve new problems. For example, when I was in my first year of under graduation, I spent more of time in memorizing the theorems, the statements of proofs and formulas. However I couldn't understand the concepts behind it. During my examination, I understood where I was lacking. I could solve problems that were easy and just needed direct application of formulas, however I couldn't solve problems that needed me to understand the concept and then use formulas. This is when I understood the importance of understanding concepts rather than just remembering the facts.

Creativity and imagination of a person increases when he/she spends quality time on understanding the concepts. If we complement our studies with experiments, then we will be able to understand better and also apply them in many diverse areas. When we spend time on the concept then we understand the ramifications of the concept. We start finding examples where this can be applied and we also understand where the following concepts fails. Hence, this helps us to have a complete understanding of the concept. For example, in my above example, one of my friends understood the concepts pretty well. He was able to apply them in various experiments he did. He tried to reason and question each of steps we followed in our experiments. This provided him an immense amount of knowledge. He started doing small projects and writing papers about the flaws. This is when I understood that it is important for us to question the ideas presented and that will in turn help us understand the concept better.

Finally, I think that ideas and concepts need to be given more priority than learning facts. By thoroughly understanding the ideas and concepts, it will help us to come up with new concepts that will help us to solve many unsolved problems on the earth. However, it is also important that we know the facts. We don't need to memorize them but we should know the importance they play in developing a concept. A concept generally relies on some facts, so it is important for us to know the context of the facts and there significance too.