It is important to keep our old friends than to make new friends. Discuss about this topic by providing various examples.

Some people believe that it is important to keep our old friends than to make new friends while others believe the vice versa. But according to me both making new friends and keeping our old friends is important. I will provide various reasons to support my argument in this essay.

Making new friends is important in certain aspects. Consider for instance that a boy has shifted from one country to another for education. This means that there is a large change in culture, lifestyle and even time zones. If the boy is busy keeping contact with his old friends, he may not make good friends in his new place. This will have an adverse effect on him. He may not have any one to share his feelings in the new country. Even though he could contact his old friends, due the difference in time zones this may not be possible. In such a case, the boy may start feeling depressed. Secondly when we are busy keeping our old friends then that may lead to us being alienated from the group. We may be perceived as introvert and this may have many consequences. The people around may stop interacting with such a person. Such a person may have great difficulties adjusting to the new place because he/she cannot find people who could provide him/her a helping hand. It is important that we make new friends as we move forward in our life because by doing so we can easily get accustomed to the new place. We need friends who can help us to settle around. We also need to make new friends because by doing so we can share our problems with him/her. We need people whom we can physically meet and share our feelings.

However, this doesn't mean that we don't keep our old friends. We should see that we keep our old friends too. By keeping old friends we create a network of friends. This is very helpful for us. For example, consider the boy in the previous example. If he only makes new friends and neglects the old ones, then once he goes back he won't have anyone to enjoy. He will lose the connection with his old friends because they may feel that he has neglected them during his stay abroad. This will affect the boy because even though he wants to relish his old memories of school he is left alone. Hence it is important that we maintain our old friends. Another important reason to keep old friends is because by this we will know a lot more people. We will have a lot many people to talk to and help us. Once we get a job and settle down, it would be great to be in contact with all our old friends. Consider for instance, we have a problem regarding legal matters, then we have a friend from our school who is a lawyer so he may help us. Similarly our friends will help us in various ways in the future. It is also great to have reunions so that we can enjoy ourselves with our friends and know them better.

Finally, I feel that we should give equal importance to making new friends and keeping old friends. As we continue this process, we can build a network of friends who will help us in various stages of life. It will make our journey of life better.