Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?
It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.
Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.
We live in an increasingly complex world, an Information Age. In this era where
knowledge is key to survival, learning facts is very important. It is tempting to say that
facts are the currency of the modern world, and that students must learn as many facts
as possible. ​I disagree, and feel it’s more important for students to learn ideas and concepts,
so they’ll be able to truly understand and use facts.
Ideas and concepts are especially important in formal education. The classroom style of
learning requires certain study skills. These study skills are useful tools for learning facts, but
the skills are not necessarily natural. The skills themselves must be learned. Students must
“learn to learn,” learning the ideas and concepts behind education. Without first learning
these ideas and concepts, they won’t be able to learn facts very effectively. So learning ideas
and concepts is more important. Ideas and concepts are foundation to the learning of facts.
The purpose of school is to prepare students for full participation in society. To hold down
jobs and be part of a community, learners need ideas and concepts even more than they need
facts. If someone studies to become an airplane pilot for example, it’s not enough to learn
where all the controls are in an airplane and what they do. Airline pilots should have an idea
of what it feels like to be in a plane before they can actually be trusted to fly a real airplane.
Similarly, for doctors concepts such as safety, responsibility, and bedside manner are more
important than knowing every single medical fact there is to know.
While facts are important, it is skills and concepts that allow us to use facts. So skills and
concepts are the most important thing a student must learn. There is an expression “Give a
man a fish and he will eat for a day. Teach a man to fish, and he will eat for a lifetime.” The
facts teachers give students are like the fish. The skills and concepts are like the fishing.
Students can’t stay in school forever. For life learning, they must be taught the skills and
concepts they need to learn, think, and act on their own.