Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

By and large, it is beyond doubt that it is critical for a government to allocate its major funds on ameliorating which aspect of society as far as the development of the nation is concerned. There is a question which has always brought about heated debate and been a controversial topic referring to whether it is crucial that governments invest in public transportation or to develop the quality of Internet access. The answer is entirely depended on the lens through which one is looking. From my vantage point, the privileges that an advanced transportation system can provide substantially outweigh the quality of Internet access. In the following, two reasons will aptly elucidate my standpoint.

The first vital point to bear in mind is that owning an accessible and highly developed transportation system can encourage citizens to not lean on their private cars, and consequently, it will lead to less air pollution. Since most people are not able to reach their destinations using buses or other conveyance facilities, they would rather take their own car that increases fossil fuel consumption.

Another noteworthy reason to mention is that transportation is strongly correlated with the citizen's quality of living. As people living in large cities spend several hours commuting, they will be more satisfied to sit on comfortable bus chairs while listening to music or reading books instead of driving in jam traffic. Should the government enhance public transportation quality, people will be more fulfilled about thier lives. As a result, the tendency to work will also augment. A personal example of mine can shed light to this issue, since there is no metro station in Iranian national library vicinity, and no other way to get there, I have to take my car and unfortunately I have to spend plenty of hours in highway's heavy traffic and tolerating loud and unpleasant noises which have the capability to turn my moments into an authentic misery. If there existed a chance of not sticking in a traffic jam and reach where ever we wish effortlessly, living in a city would be much more delightful.

To bring everything into conclusion, two enumerated reasons converge to the fact that the role that public transportation plays is incomparable with the Internet. As it is stated hereinabove, not only are the general public encouraged not to utilize cars, but also they will be euphoric about the quality of living in their cities. I would suffice to the above-mentioned facts, albeit there are manifold reasons to support my perspective.