Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Students are more influenced by their teachers than their friends.

There is no doubt that each of us have had some kinds of teachers, and we have been influenced by them somehow. It might have been our parents, teachers or even our friends. Personally, I believe that we are being more influenced by our friends that a teacher, which I will explore in the ensuing paragraphs.

First and foremost, we fell very friendly toward our friends, though, we can learn more from them than a teacher that we might be present in their class just for a few hours. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. Five years ago, when I took an introductory business class in my university, I didn’t catch something out of my teacher’s explanation at all. However, while I was frustrated and hopeless about it. I met one of my classmates who later became a close friend of mine. So few weeks later, we found an apprenticeship in a big mall, and I during work and even out or working-environment I learned from him that how to persuade a customer, how increase our sells and more importantly how to persuade them to come again. Consequently, I learned much better from a friend that a teacher because while working, I faced a lot of questions that I could only ask from my friend.

Secondly, students are in contact with their teachers only for a few hours in a class, and one or two hours daily or weekly talks or lectures do not influence much on students a lot. Usually, we go to university to just learn something about our knowledge or our future carrier from them. Out of the class or university we are persuaded mostly by our friends. For instance, when I graduated from a university I was looking for a job at a well-known company to work for. Nonetheless, not only I got a job, but there I met a very successful businessman there that our company bought their products from him. Ultimately, we became great friends. He cooperated with me to set up my own business and be my own boss. Since I needed step by step guide of him, he was always reachable for me. So he puts all of his efforts to help me as best as he can anytime. Thus, he is always accessible for me to approach to him anytime.

In the end, although the role to the teachers are crucial for directing the society in the right direction, hence, think that people are mostly influenced by friends. It is because they spend most of their time with them and we fell very friendly with them. It all leads us that friends be much more influential than our teachers.