Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Students do not respect their teachers as much as they did in the past.

An ancient Chinese saying, “a teacher passes on doctrines, (猜词互动)professional knowledge, and resolve doubts”, has revealed us the salient role a teacher plays in the process of schooling. It is no surprising that the relationship between instructors and students draws constant attention throughout the history. As the progression and implementation of universal education, however, the social status of teachers has by no means advanced in pace. As for me, I have to admit the fact that students nowadays show less regard to their teachers than they did in the past.

First off, the growth of electronic information has led to a diversification of learning approaches, positioning teachers as less savvy resources than in the past. Teachers’ role has diminished significantly since high-technology products and online materials manifest their importance in information sharing. Teenagers gather whatever they are determined to know from affluent channels either on the Internet or in the library, either in class or off class. Useful educational programs, such as TED and Podcasts, are designated to present lectures given by the most eminent professors, who are of great possibility to be more knowledgeable than teachers in real life, across the world, as a consequence of which students today may pay less or even no attention to their teachers. In addition, bringing electronic devices like Kindles and Ipads to the class makes the students no longer concentrate on what their teacher is teaching, which is unrespect to the teacher’s hard work. In stark contrast, men of knowledge held a special place in society and were highly honored by their students in history, for teachers perhaps were the only medium they could resort to when it came to knowledge acquisition. For example, scholars from ancient times like Greek philosopher Socrates and Chinese sage Confucius were not merely reputed for their theories but also renowned for their immortal ideas passed on to their disciples. Both of these two great minds did not leave any written works of their ideologies; instead, to show esteem, their students recorded their deeds and beliefs in the form of dialogues, which were permanently enshrined as the classics of human beings. Hence, in light of the fact that experience could only gained through knowledge imparted by teachers, it is not uncommon that students in the past are more deferential to their mentors than they are at present.

On top of that, stereotypes of educators are formed result from the mounting numbers of the teaching profession. That “a thing is valued if it is rare” is a widely acknowledged belief, and based on this universally accepted concept, long with the lower threshold of normal school entrance, many juveniles today may deem that education practitioners are less precious than before. Previously, many occupations, including teachers, in society were grounded on a rigorous selection system where only people both of high moral integrity and specialized knowledge could enter the workforce. Nowadays, the rapid speed of society leaves no space to polish the practical skills of each teacher-to-be; rather, those novices will step straightforwardly into a real school after four-year normal school education. Apart from that, another overarching notion is that those who cannot be excellent in any field become teachers. If you love painting but not accomplished enough to be called an artist, then you become a teacher teaching painting, which will be seen as a mediocre career. Had Vincent Van Gogh given up his dedication to painting, succumbed to reality, and undertaken in the teaching profession (given that he might taught several outstanding apprentices), the world would lose the most shining star in its art gallery, and no one would ever show much admiration to him as he or she would now. To some extent, contemporary society has established some stereotyped images of teachers, and therefore has degraded the true value of educators in society.

In a nutshell, it is less reliance on teachers thanks to the advent of digital age and preoccupations on teaching team by virtue of modern society that result in the phenomenon that students today are less respectable to their teachers that they ere in previous decades.