Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

By and large, it is established beyond doubt that relationship and friendship require work, they do not just materialize and maintain themselves and they did not build on a foundation of convenience, either. They take time and patience and two people who put in the effort. Stemming from this fact, a relevant question that is a moot point is whether in order to stay happy we should keep our friendships with the small group of people than make new friends. Due to the controversial nature of this question, there is not a general argument on this issue. I am, however, to a great extent of the conviction that being friendly with a large number of people is more beneficial than stay friend with a small group of people. The following paragraphs will aptly substantiate my personal stance.

To commence with, our friends play an important role in our lives and being away from them has a deleterious effect on our friendship and can destroy it. In fact, there is nothing more vital to the bond we share with our friends because they play a pivotal role in our happiness. Generally phrased, make new friends will provide an opportunity for us to become familiar with more people, which certainly have a sense of humor. In fact, this hallmark will help us to stay happy owing to the fact that the more new friends, the more sense of humor. As a tangible example, based on a nationwide survey, vast majorities of people who make new friends day in day out are happier than those who maintain the friendship with the small number of people. To elucidate more on this issue, not only can we stay happy with myriads of friends but also can take a new breath in our lives. Indeed, with frequent attention and affection, we help heal each others' wounds in order to strengthen our relationships and friendships.

Another reason that should not go unnoticed is that making new friends will help us to become acquainted with a plethora of people with different attitudes and passions. If we take a minute to ponder over it, new friends will provide fertile ground for us to view life differently and broaden our horizon. Going into the depth, with more friends we will be able to improve our relationships and not only can keep in touch with them because the circle of friendships improve but also can cause long-lasting happiness.

However, this is one side of a coin. Being friend with a small number of people will help us get to know each other better than before and in this situation, they are more likely to give a hand and address your problems when you face huge trials and tribulations and overwhelmed by stress.