Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

To improve the quality of education, universities should spend more money on salaries for university professors.

Views differ when it comes to the issue of whether increasing university professors' salaries can lead to an improvement in the quality of education. Being paid more salary provides an incentive for professors and releases their stress and pressure.

The first aspect to point out is that one of the strongest motivations for professors is having higher salaries. It provides a lot of benefits for them which helps them be more enthusiastic to teach more effectively in the class. One of the concerns of university professors who will be motivated by this decision is that they assume if they had other careers, they would be paid much more with much greater ease rather than be involved with a number of students most of whom reluctant in learning . A higher salary means being valued to them what may bolster their self esteem. Motivated professors can inspire students perform well in their studies leading to an improvement in the university's performance. For instance, a professor who is not satisfied with his salary could not spend enough time after his class to help students solve their problems. He keeps leaving the class soon in order not to be confronted with a lot of questions taking all his time. However, an increase in the salary can make him stay longer broadening students' knowledge.

A further more subtle point is that offering more salaries to university professors can help them shed their tension. Like other members of the society, they have their personal lives with a number of financial concerns. Not only can they boost their self-esteem by being paid more, but also they will mentally get healthier by this plan. Since professors have a drastic impact on students' minds, they should be physically and mentally prepared in order to convey their information in the most effective way. For instance, a professor who is in charge of a family of four with lots of incomplete plans in his mind cannot concentrate on what he is teaching to students even though his mental discomfort may not be apparent to students. He might be able to keep his temper when a student keeps asking the same concept he has been explaining for several hours again and again and respond him well though he finds it too unbearable. This may have adverse effects on his soul causing negative reactions at home even toward his family members.

To summarize, spending money on paying more salaries to university professors is highly beneficial since they get stimulated and feel less mentally concerned. It is high time we stopped overlooking the fact that even though most professors teach due to their sheer enthusiasm in shaping students' minds, they need to be satisfied in order to teach well.