Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

When classmates or colleagues communicate about a project in person instead of by e-mail, they will produce better work for the project.

We are living in an era in which there is a massive trend toward functional collaboration and practical cooperation at education centers in general—universities, colleges, high schools etc.—and work-places of any profession. Undeniably, it is vital for every individual to develop communication skills alongside education skills, so as to thrive on their talent. Crystal clear as it could be conceived, in order to harness the ultimate power of human beings, one must gain a sense of prominence through group activities. Although new technologies are, undoubtedly, of huge assistance, being a social creature, human needs to interact with others in general and with their peers in particular.

When communicating, facial contact takes less time than in all other ways. Facial contact involves body language, rise and fall of the voice, eye contact, and maybe even touch and feel. As lucid and clear, we use all of these means while communicating in person. As a result, we send our message across in a more succinct fashion, and, apparently, it takes less time to code and decode—as our minds are perceived as connecting information points of one end. A magical emotional bond develops when people tend to meet in person, and intentions can be smelled through the atmosphere. One can see that, for instance, countries representative gather to discuss vital matters. For the sake of impartiality, it is needed to take the convenience of technology – e-mail as an example – into account as well. Not always it would be plausible to do projects in person, mainly because of the distance and the cost of transportation. Time, being the wealth of our lives, is what people consider as the most significant priority when arranging a meeting and, afterwards, holding the meeting. Consequently, e-mail can act like a two-sided blade. In one perspective, it is advantageous to use e-mail as a means of arrangements, for it is more convenient and time-saving. From another point of view, e-mail can turn an intriguing project to a tedious task of exchanging stoic messages, for it is senseless and containing no emotions.

Furthermore, the human is created to live in social settings. Regardless of how introverted or extroverted we are, or what type of personality we have, we tend to socialize so as to fulfill the call of our soul and body's demands. However "busy" one seems to be, they would acquire, namely, nutrition, intimacy, and home to live. The demand for interaction with others is just as significant. By misusing technology, we are in danger of living an isolated life, which sets the stage for mental problems. Although this trend should be reversed, precariously, the human is oblivious of becoming "technology's" labor. However, we must acknowledge that by using e-mail, one can get access to numerous e-mails—accounts and people—at a time, which would not be feasible when contacting in person. Finally, it does not mean that when the project is initiated and has already passed its infancy, it would be needed to persist on e-mail communication.

Last but not least, the required character of every individual nowadays is group work-ability. Those who have more cooperative capabilities would be more selective when seeking employment or occupation. As it is said, two individuals who are working separately on a project would apparently be counted as two people. On the other hand, when the two persons join forces in person, they would be counted as four people. So how many forces would we have when three persons are working together as a group? Not surprisingly, as many as nine. This, in fact, is the power of collaboration which, on some occasions, is called "brainstorming." Since it is enormous assistance to the compilation of the projects, the developing ability of brainstorming should not be treated superficially. Imagine how much reduction in the amount of salary we would have by hiring fewer people? E-mails, however, enables us to be more flexible toward our personal schedules. When we are to meet in person, the time is already firmly fixed; by e-mail, nevertheless, we feel free to read and reply. Nevertheless, we also should consider that, by doing so, we would probably lose the so-called "momentum" needed to accomplish deadlines in an arbitrary project.

To sum up, it can be perceived that reckon that although being convenient at first impact, e-mail would never take the place of in-person contact when it comes to productivity. E-mail would, at best, act as a means of arrangement and informing. Close, or in person, contact leads us to immensely more productivity, due to three main reasons: firstly, it saves us time when considering the total time of projects. Secondly, it is an underlying factor for feeding the human demand for socialization. At last, it assists organizations to thrive via creating brainstorming atmosphere and establishing a strong momentum.