Do you agree or disagree Good teachers set challenging tasks for their students Give a specific example and reasons to support your claim.

Teachers are one of the very few people who play a vital role in the overall development of a person. When can we regard a person as a good teacher, that is the question. Sympathy, friendly and helping nature, hard work, and academic excellence are important qualities. However, in my opinion, providing their pupils with challenges is of paramount importance.

To begin with, pedagogues who guide their students to be truly educated can be considered nothing less than a god. It is important to study, learn and remember the facts. However, what is more, important is how to apply them to real-world problems. Only the teachers who believe in their students can have the courage to present them with such difficulties and push them to do better every day. For instance, I remember I had a math teacher during high school who used to set really difficult exam papers and gave challenging assignments. It helped me and almost everyone to think outside of the box and later in college, I found it fairly easy to keep up with the course materials and get good grades.

Secondly, onerous tasks require determination, diligence, and in-depth knowledge of the subjects. Anyone can answer a bunch of questions by relying on rote learning. But it takes a presence of mind in classrooms, participation in discussions, and an active relationship with peers and teachers to be conversant with whatever has been taught in class and use it to solve demanding homework or assignments. In other words, teachers can spur a quality of discipline and academic propriety that one should have to be successful in life.

Some may argue that such kind of teachers are usually pretty strict. Students may not get good grades which will discourage them to study that particular subject. However, I believe that it will encourage students to push their boundaries and make extra efforts to get good grades. Admittedly, the tasks assigned and the time given to complete them should be realistic, and the technique of constructive criticism should be used to keep students motivated. In a way, it would make students brave enough to fight against the odds.

To sum up, it is perfectly reasonable to say that good teachers set challenging tasks for their pupils since it shows trust in students' capabilities, boosts their confidence, makes them prepared and habituated to face such difficult tasks later in higher studies, and provides them with a sense of victory and achievement when they complete such tasks.