Do you agree or disagree Internet should be like other services such as roads and government should provide it to the public with no cost

Without a shadow of a doubt, The Internet and social media have become pivotal parts of our life and have dramatically influenced our lifestyles. An unanswered question in this area is whether everyone should access the free Internet as same as public roads. Despite arguments asserting that offering the Internet with no charge puts the current infrastructure under colossal pressure and reduces the Internet access quality, I believe otherwise, maintaining that the disadvantages of this decision are infinitesimal compared to the advantages offering. In the following essay, I will elaborate on my viewpoint through two compelling reasons.

The first exquisite point corroborating my stance on this subject is that spend budgets on providing free access to the Internet is a promising step toward an educated society. These days, many websites like YouTube have been designed that equip individuals with invaluable information and skills. As a result, knowledge acquisition is neither excluded for only a few parts of the community nor as time-consuming as it was in the past. Furthermore, many schools and universities hold online classes and exams, especially during the Covid-19 pandemic period. Therefore, if a government does not allot suitable funds for the free Internet, it will deprive many poor children of their fundamental rights and seeds the plants of widespread illiteracy. A survey conducted in my country has revealed that 30 percent of students could not continue their education due to exorbitant expenses of Internet access.

Another reason to be mentioned is that accessing the Internet without any payments assists the flourishing of the country’s economy. Thanks to the development of Internet-based technologies, every people can make a fortune easily by running their own online business such as electronic commerce or acquiring lucrative digital skills like social marketing. In other words, even people who live in remote areas that access the Internet or people with physical disabilities can make money without any commuting. Accordingly, one of the conducive government policies to eliminate poverty and guarantee society’s well-being is promoting the further advance of online business. The prerequisite for this aim is governments implement the same strategies that each administration has done throughout history to expand trades by funding free and secure network transportation routes.

Reflecting upon all grounds mentioned above, one soon realizes that governments should remove impediments of Internet access for everyone and not begrudge any penny spent.