Do you agree or disagree It is easier for parents to raise children than it was 50 years ago

Raising children, has been valued and even triggered a heated discussion over whether it is easier to raise children than in the past. Raising kids in the past, in many people’s ways, was harder. Contrary to these people’s opinions is my perspective that it is more effortless to raise children now, due to the contributions to education and technology.

What must be prioritized is that parenting today, instead of being a parent in the past, is easier because an affordable education is more accessible than ever before, by offering them a compulsory education and well-rounded education. To begin with, it is the compulsory education that ensures every student in the country to acquire the basic knowledge and skills. In detail, the government now provides all children with a compulsory education which includes many useful courses: math, English, computer science, history and so on. By contrast, such a large amount of knowledge could not be obtained in the past because when students from rural areas had no access to a good quality education. Moreover, never can we ignore the significance of the well-rounded education to parenting. To explain it further, by receiving a well-rounded education, children are more likely to develop their drawing talents, writing skills and interpersonal ability which will help to a cultivate a well-rounded adult; On the other hand, would they be able to acquire such a wide range of knowledge in the past when they had to receive a test-oriented education?

What is equally worth discussing is that the development of technology, instead of the limited sources about parenting in the past, helps parents to gain knowledge and tips on nurturing children by providing parents with social media and searching engines. To begin with, it is well-acknowledged that parents can communicate with other parents about issues they have in common on all sorts of social media. Specifically, with social media, parents can find parents who have similar problems easily and then discuss with them or learn from their mistakes based what they get from the Internet. On the contrary, under no circumstances would they get such a large amount of instant information in the past. Additionally, the technology makes it possible for parents to use powerful searching engines now. To be more specific, parents now are able to surf the Internet to acquire all the knowledge they need for nurturing kids including health, education, and psychology. However, it is impossible for them to get information on practical parenting skills and knowledge in the past.

Education, the foundation of students’ future development, is more accessible now; Technology, the useful tool for parents to obtain parenting skills, is more widely-used now. In conclusion, it is now more effortless to raise children now than in the past.