Do you agree or disagree? It is impossible to always be completely honest with your friends.

Today, making good friends and keeping your friendship alive is very difficult. Trust and honesty are the most important characteristics that every friendship requires for surviving. Hence, the question is there is any human who can guarantee to always be completely honest with his friends. Indeed, I believe being always completely honest is impossible because honesty leads to criticism that is not pleasant for all people. Moreover, trusting completely even to your closest friends is risky. I will illustrate my reasons in the next paragraphs.

First, honesty leads to criticism that some people don’t like it. In other words, some moments aren’t very important and if you want to be completely honest with your friend, you have to criticize him. Thus, as a result of this criticism, your friend may become upset which may hurt your friendship eventually. For example, once, my friend asked my opinion about a musical track that he played himself. Although I didn’t like it at all, I preferred to doesn’t criticize him because he had just begun the music class and if I told him my honest opinion he might become upset which might have led to hurting our friendship.

Second, trusting people even who are closest to you is risky. In fact, everybody may have some secrets that he doesn’t want anyone else knows about them. Thus, when you tell your secrets to another person, even if you trust him completely, you increase the risk of revealing your secret because they may not be reliable as much as you think or they may reveal your secret by accident. Indeed, it is clear that with increasing the number of people who know a secret, the possibility of spreading the secret will increase. For example, when I was a student at university, I had a roommate in the dorm who was my closest friend. I had always talked to him about my thesis issues and other things that I didn’t want anyone else to know about them. Once when we were in a friendly meeting, he started talking about a problem that I told him before. Indeed, it was a secret and I didn’t want to others know about it, but he revealed my secret accidentally.

Based on the aforementioned reasons, it can be concluded that being always completely honest with a friend is impossible.