Do you agree or disagree with the statement: competition with friends usually has negative effects on friendships?

Nowadays, competition with friends has become the top concern in society. In many people's opinion, those competitions affect friendships negatively because only one person can win at last, which hurts their relationship a lot. Contrary to those people's idea is my perspective that competition with friends usually has positive effects on friendships. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explain in the following part.

What must be prioritized is that competitions, such as football matches and video games, make it possible for people to spend more time with friends, which can strengthen their friendship. In detail, nowadays people are facing fierce competition, which places them under great pressure. Under such circumstances, people will spend less time with their friends and even lose their friends. There is no denying that holding some competitions between friends not only helps them relax, thus reducing their pressure, but also increase the time they spend together, which will definitely improve their relationship. For example, when I played basketball with my best friend Joey, who I had not talked to for a long time due to busy schoolwork, during my break time last week, I communicated a lot with him and our relationship became closer. Therefore, I believe that competition with friends usually has positive effects on friendships.

What is equally important is that competition with friends helps people achieve success. In detail, peer pressure from friends stimulates people to show their best performance, which helps them reach their goals more efficiently. This reminds me of the story between my best friend Tom and me. Last year, both Tom and I successfully organized an auction during a P&G recruitment interview, which we only had 40 hours to prepare. Since we were in the same group, the peer pressure pushed both of us to try our best to design a strategy to make the auction items appreciate and develop a negotiating plan with the sponsors. Finally, both of us were highly recognized by the superior and transferred to formal employees. Thus, I reckon that competition with friends usually has positive effects on friendships.

In conclusion, I strongly think that competition with friends usually has positive effects on friendships, not only because people can spend more time with friends, but also because competitions can help people achieve success more easily.