Young people today are more likely to give time and effort to improve the world than young people were in the past.

Young people, the vital underpinning of the development of our world, have been in the limelight recently and provokes a heated discussion centering on whether the young today give more time and effort to improve the world than the young in the past. In many people's opinions, young people nowadays care less about improving the world because they are busier and more selfish than young people in the past. Contrary to their ideas is my perspective that young people today are more likely to give time and effort to improve the world than young people were in the past. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explain further in the following part.

What must be prioritized is that young people in today's world have more access to high-quality education so they are able to put time and efforts in studying technology, which can improve the world. In detail, young people, regardless of their family financial background, can be educated due to the government's grants and support. Take my friend Jam as an example. She successfully found a special gene, which could double the yield of corns, during her master degree. This type of corns has been grown widely in Henan, a region with a huge amount of population in China, and solved the problem of famine in that region to a large extent. However, many talent young people in the past had no access to education so they were unable to know specific method to improve the world. Therefore, I believe that young people today are more likely to give time and effort to improve the world than young people were in the past.

What is equally important is that the environment nowadays has much negative impact on young people so they are more desirable to improve their world. To be more specific, the environment surrounding today's young people is more severe than in the past because many basic elements, such as air and water, are polluted, which brings to abundant health problems. In order to reduce pollution, young people are more willing to give their time and effort to improve the world they live in. The story of my town is a good case in point. Last year, half of the people, including my friends, in my town suffered from stomachache because a factory released some toxic chemicals into the river where dwellers got their drinking water. After I knew this, I was extremely angry so I took efforts in conducting several surveys as well as writing several reports to the local government. Finally, the factory was fined and forced to close, which brought me a sense of achievement since I improve the world I live in. Thus, I reckon that young people today are more likely to give time and effort to improve the world than young people were in the past.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that young people today are more likely to give time and effort to improve the world than young people were in the past, not only because today's young people are more well-educated but also because their environment is negatively influenced more.