Do you agree or disagree, it is a waste of money for a government to fund space travel.

Space travel, an eternal dream pursued by many people, has been in the limelight recently and provoked a heated discussion centering on whether space travel is worth the investment. In many people's opinion, spending money on space travel is useless. Contrary to their views is my perspective that it is not a waste of money for a government to fund space travel. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explain in the following part.

What must be prioritized is that space travel places humans as beneficiaries. To be more specific, many space programs provide a lot of methods to solve problems, such as famine, on the Earth. For example, Shengzhou 5, China's first manned spacecraft, brought several types of corn seeds into space in 2003. Two of them doubled their yields after being exposed to the space rays for two weeks. Hence, these two kinds were brought back to the Earth and grown widely in China. Today, many people appreciate the corns' good taste and low price. Since they have extremely high yields, they are now the most effective ways to solve the problem of famine in Henan, a region with a huge amount of population in the North of China. Therefore, I believe that space travel can benefit people a lot and is not a waste of money.

What is equally important is that space travel can boost the economy of a country, which is worth the cost. In detail, not only does space travel create numerous jobs, but it also increases national tax revenues. I can think of no better illustration than the statistic. NASA, an independent agency responsible for the space program in the United State, indicated in its 2021 economic impact report that NASA supported more than 320,000 positions, such as engineers and industrial designers, and generated an estimated 7 billion dollars in taxes throughout America. There is no denying that the investment of only 0.5 percent of the federal budget, was worthwhile due to the significant economic output. Accordingly, I reckon that it is not a waste of money for the government to fund space travel.

Admittedly, the government can also solve social problems or promote the economy by spending the budget on providing food for the poor or increasing the tax. However, those methods can not last long, and space travel is more durable and can solve those problems thoroughly due to the rich resources in space and the huge amounts of jobs and taxes it will create. Thus, I still hold the belief that it is not a waste of money for the government to fund space travel.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that it is not a waste of money for the government to fund space travel.