During our careers, we work with many different kinds of people. All of them have unique characteristics and personality traits. In your opinion, which of the following is the most important characteristic of a coworker?

1- A serious attitude regarding their work obligations.

2- A willingness to learn new things.

3- The ability to make other people laugh.

You may choose more than one of these options. Use reasons and specific examples to explain your answer. Do not use memorized examples.

Work enivronments vary immensly depending on their field, and within the walls of these environments lie a specific relationship among working people, which is being “coworkers”. In my opinion, having coworkers that are willing to try new things, and have a serious attitude regarding their work obligations being of their characters is more important than any other. I will explore my reasons in the upcoming parts of this essay.

First, having a will to learn new things when working can become real handy. Every single day, new things pop up in our world, and people can use lots of these things mainly to make their work go smoothly and more easily. Furthermore, people who are willing to learn new things are usually more open minded when it comes to dealing with people, and have a rather abstract and creative way of thinking than people who prefer sticking to the norms. Thus, they usually create a better working atmosphere, and make sure they give the output expected from them and they, sometimes, might even surprise us. I have a really good experience suitable for this reason. About half a year ago, I was working at a charity organization where we work with children of hearing problems. I had a coworker who never experienced working with deaf people before, and so, he started thinking about approachable ways to deal with them. After a while, he came up with a really creative child-friendly activity that actually worked and the children had, hopefully, one of the best times of their lives. Adding to that, working with him was not hard at all, as he was very friendly and open minded, which helped create a really comfortable working atmosphere for both of us.

Second, people who have a serious attitude regarding their work obligations usually have the higher success rates. When we think about it, people that actually put their work before anything else can usually complete their work at the upmost performance and the highest quality. Moreover, they tend to make sure everyone around them is doing his designated work the right way, and for that, they will start cheering their coworkers to always do their best. To add, it helps to have coworkers who are serious when it comes to work because it goes hand in hand with creating a sense of team work among workers, which makes it much better to complete the assigned tasks. I remember I once dealt with such coworkers, which will definitely be a fitting example for this certain reason. When I used to work as an intern in a bank, I had one coworker who was always on time, and always did his best at work. He would try to finish every task he was assigned as elegant as possible, and would sometimes put more hours into finshing everything he had to do. Adding to that, he used to always help me when I struggled with any work I had to do, and would sometimes check on me to make sure everything went smoothly.

To conclude, I believe that the characteristics of being willing to learn new things, and having a serious attitude towards their work obligations are the most important characteristics we can find in a coworker. This belief is for the reason that people who willingly try new things can be reliable at work, and that people who have a serious attitude about their work are usually more successful and make up for a great work output.