Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world.

Language is one of the most important ingredients of nations’ cultures. However; unfortunately, with the passage of time a number of languages has already disappeared and died out from the world. Though this ostensibly seems to be beneficial for facilitating the process of communication and globalization, I am of the conviction that the disappearance of languages can precipitate a lot of deleterious effects. I will explore the most discernible reasons for my viewpoint in the subsequent body paragraphs.

To commence with, language loss definitely ruins the cultural and national unity of the country, where the language is spoken. Indubitably, people perceive and understand their traditions, customs and habits in their own language. In other words, the ceremonies, rituals and events that the culture of a particular country integrates, are all held and implemented in the country’s national language. To elucidate my point, let us take the example of Armenian diaspora. People who has created this huge diaspora are considered to be Armenians, but the main problem is they do not speak their own language very often and usually, are not familiar and able to understand their national traditions.

In addition, if the languages keep disappearing on this rate, the globalization of cultures will be inevitable. Though many people stick to the idea that this will do solely good to humanity, I will claim that the fusion of cultures will eventually cause their disappearance. Take the same example mentioned above. Armenians living abroad and speaking foreign languages are hugely exposed to this globalization process. For example, in the USA a lot of Armenians celebrate the Halloween, instead of maintaining their national values and traditions. To my opinion, this is the very result of speaking a foreign language, as they gradually start to think in the way that indigenous people think.

In the light of the reasons mentioned above, I will surely state that the language loss cannot have any advantageous effects on the society, but will certainly set the stage for globalization of cultures and and loss of national identity.