The expression Never never give up means to keep trying and never stop working for your goals Do you agree or disagree with this statement Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Every time we try a new experience or we fail in an attempt at something new, the most common advice we receive from others is not to give up and carry on. In fact people have heard it so much that they say that the mere mention of it makes them sick. But a very oft-repeated phrase, there must be at least some truth to it.

When trying something new and unfamiliar, we must understand that failure is part of the journey and is inevitable. Just because we fail doesn't mean we cannot move forward and that we would not succeed. Instead this should be an opportunity to learn from our mistakes and carry on. In other words we must not give up. It requires hard work, patience and learning in order to succeed in any aspect of life. I have seen people who have started at very simple and low paying jobs but have moved on to bigger positions in their field while others remained in the same position they started at. The reason for that was, although this person did not receive any higher formal education, they decided to self-study using second-hand books.This person did not understand the information on the first try and instead of giving up, they re-read multiple times until they fully grasped the concept and learned new skills alongside studying. This is the reason that today, this person has a high paying job and acts as a mentor to other employees.

However, it may not always be prudent to carry on doing something, such as investing money in order to start a business although they are unsuccessful every time. If one does not have the resources or time to continue, it would be wise to give up at least for the time being and work on something else that is within their time and financial budget.

Another thing to keep in mind is your health, both physical and mental. No work that you do should be at the expense of your health. This may mean giving up entirely or waiting until you are mentally and physically capable of doing this certain activity or task. For example, I once knew a very hard-working person who would not give up her work even though she knew she wasn't capable of doing it, as she had just given birth and her mother had just passed away. As a result of overworking under such stress, she had to be hospitalized due to panic attacks.

That being said, it does not mean that you keep jumping from one project to another just because of a single or few failures. If we do that, we would not be able to stick to a single one and end up feeling as though we have achieved nothing. Instead it is better to focus on a single project keeping in mind that you have the resources and health to do so.

To sum up, I believe that the phrase ‘Never, never give up’ means one should try their best to keep working hard even if they meet with a few failures at first. We should also keep in mind that we must be mentally, physically and financially able to achieve these goals. Setting unrealistic goals would be dangerous as we would feel like a failure if we do not achieve them.