A fossil skeleton of a dinosaur called Sinosauropteryx, preserved in volcanic ash, was discovered in Liaoning, China, in 1996. Interestingly, the fossil included a pattern of fine lines surrounding the skeletal bones. Some paleontologists interpret the lines as evidence that Sinosauropteryx had feathers. However, critics have opposed the idea that Sinosauropteryx was a feathered dinosaur, citing several reasons. First, the critics point out that the fine lines may not even represent functional structures of a living dinosaur, but rather structures that were formed after the animal’s death. After the animal died and was buried in volcanic ash, its skin may have decomposed into fibers. The skin fibers then became preserved as lines in the fossil; the lines were misinterpreted as evidence of feathers. Second, even if the fine lines are remains of real structures of a Sinosauropteryx, scientists cannot tell with certainty what part of the dinosaur’s anatomy the structures were. Many dinosaurs had frills, ornamental fan-shaped structures growing out of some parts of their bodies. Some of the critics argue that the lines surrounding the skeleton are much more likely to be fossilized remains of frills than remains of feathers. A third objection is based on the fact that the usual functions of feathers are to help animals fly or regulate their internal temperature. However, the structures represented by the lines in the Sinosauropteryx fossil were mostly located along the backbone and the tail of the animal. This would have made the structures quite useless for flight and of very limited use in thermoregulation. This suggests that the lines do not represent feathers.

Essay topics in audio

In the reading passage, the author states three kinds of the reasons why critics thinks the lines around the dinosaur was feathered, while the lecturer claims that what the reading passage states is not convincing and disputes those ideas presented in the reading passage by several proofs.

First, the writer in the reading passage argue that this structure would have been formed after the animal death, while the lecturer opposes this claim by says that the place where the fossil was founded is a volcanic ash which can preserve animal remnants, but there are no animal remnants behind the dinosaur fossil. Therefore, the line could attribute to the Sinosauropteryx.

Second, the belief in the reading passage is that scientist cannot exactly say that the line attributed to the Sinosauropteryx or not. By contrast, the speaker views to this issue is from an opposite angle. According with the speaker, the chemical analysis shows that the line was feather.

Third, the reading passage states that the feather in the Sinosauropteryx was for the purpose of the flying or maybe helps animal to regulate their body temperature. However, the lecturer demonstrate that the structures was colorful like in the modern birds, so helped the Sinosauropteryx to fly.

In conclusion, the professor clearly identified the weaknesses in the reading passage and convincingly shows that the central idea in the reading passage the idea, line was the feathered dinosaur is accurately incorrect.