Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In this progressive and sophisticated world where we live, people try to find solution to get to happiness. In this way of thought, some people believe that keeping relationship with old friend in more important for happiness because they have lots of things to talk and they are so comfortable beside them. However, I don't think old friend could get the happiness for anyone since they have other struggles in their own lives actually they don't have time to think about you. The reason to substantiated my viewpoint are elaborated upon hereunder.

The chief reason why I generally disagree with this statement is distance between us. We need to move to other cities regularly for job, university and so on. Therefore, we couldn't be able to continue our friendship for a long time. For example, I had a good friendship with a group of nice girls in the middle school. We are so close to each other that we bought similar thing. Even though we were seeing each other in school, we called each other after school. And even if one of us faced with a problem, we all tried to solve it. However, after we accepted from different universities, in some cases in different cities, our relationship destroyed. We all take different ways. Even thought we continue to discussing, we don't have the same feeling, and emotion. As you can see how distance, problems, new life development change our relationship.

My second reason is the changing personality and believes in different life stages. We all faced with the situation in our lives either good or bad, we got life experiment from them which in and of itself would change our personality and makes a different person from us. I never can forget the time, when we old friends got to a coffee after some years. As we wanted to discuss about our lives development, I understand how time changes us. In truth, didn't enjoy the time when we spend with each other.

Last but not the last, the lack of the time and problems in scheduling an appointment with old friends. We all have some habitat where we love to spend our leisure time and relax. As for me, I love to play piano. After my class If I have any free time, I love to go out and drink a cup of tea, understandably, I can’t call any of my old friends and even if I call they may don't have time. Therefore, it would be easier for me to make new ones from the music course or from the work. By these way, I have two benefit. First, in every place I have any one to speak and talk. Second, I can improve my situation in the work and the music group that I joint.

In conclusion, taking aforementioned reasons and examples into account, I believe that maintaining friendship with old friend will bring us more happiness than making new ones.