The government has announced that it plans to build a new university. Some people think that your community would be a good place to locate the university. Compare the advantages and disadvantages of establishing a new university in your community. Use specific details in your discussion

Recently the discussion about whether or not to have the university built in our community becomes a hot topic in our neighborhood. Some people consider that university will bring more advantages than disadvantages to our community and agree with the suggestion; another group has a different standpoint. They think that establishing a university in our community will generate more disadvantages to our community. Personally, I believe the proverb, ‘one coin, both sides’. Of course, establishing a university also has advantages and disadvantages as well.

There are many advantages of establishing a new university in our community. First, university can bring prosperity to our community. For example, when the university is built, it will attract many students to come to study. Therefore, the needs of the students will increase such as the articles for daily use. Then we may consider running stores and restaurants near the university. Therefore, more job opportunities will be provided, and the local people will have the priority to get the jobs. As the result, people can work to support their family financially, at the same time they are able to take care of their families without leaving distance as current situation.

Second, when the university is built, the government will take into account improving the system of transportations. They may build subway connected to the city, which will bring us more conveniences and attract more people to come for investments. We can predict that as soon as the subway is built, our house price will be increased immediately. Consequently, our neighborhood will become prosperous.

Second advantage is that when the university is built, the government may investigate money to improve the environment around our community. For example, building a park is necessary for the student to have entertainment or relaxation when they have free time. Thus we local people also can benefit from this project. We can take a walk with our family after supper or play in the park on weekends or holidays, which will bring us a lot of funs and accelerate the union of our families.

The disadvantages of building the university in our community cannot be ignored. First, building a university takes a long time. During the process of building the construction, it will make too many noises and pollutions, the noises from the machine and the workers. It will influence our lives such as our sleep, our study and so on. Also, it will bring us many inconveniences. For instance, the roads may be blocked. Many trucks will pass by our neighborhood. Thus, we may have an unrest lives during proceeding the construction

Second, when the university is built, more and more people will flow to our community including the students as well as those who come for running a business then our place will become too crowded and noisy. As the result, we may not possible to enjoy a quiet and clean environment as presence. This absolutely reduces our quality of our lives.

Third, building a university means we will lose a lot of our lands. Building a university is not just building a construction it also requires the whole equipment, the campus, the libraries, and the roads etc. What if our next generations if the lands are taken for building the university? Where shall they live? This is a big issue that we need to take into account.

To sum up, building a university near our community has advantages and disadvantages as well. Therefore, before making the decision we shall consider both aspects and measure them carefully.