Governments across the world should invest more of their resources to protect the environment than promote businesses and industry.

Ever since civilization, people have craved to prosper their lives through economic activities that imposed an enormous burden on the environment, which render us to live with its undesirable consequence. In my opinion, I undoubtedly reckon that officials all over the globe should, indeed, devote resources more to environmental projects rather than businesses or industries for two reasons.

First and foremost, the environmental deterioration endangers human life, which means, unless universal governmental efforts collaborate to tackle this issue, the coming generation will be devastated by exacerbation of pollution, climate changes, and overly depletion decline in our precious natural resources. For example, industrialization and transportations consume non-renewable fossilized energy, emit poisonous CO2 gas as well. Therefore, governments must fund infrastructure projects that supply vehicles and factories with clean energy like electricity from the sun, the winds, and waves. Moreover, governments can subsidize replanting trees in forests that absorb green gases, pledge to support scientific research regarding Ozon layers that cause global warming. All those projects will need tremendous funds, but they will pay off by preserving our natural resources. As you can see, if governments do unify their endeavors to mitigate environmental risks, it will save humanity.

Another potential significant reason for international investment in environmental plans is the higher likelihood of improving societies' health to become more productive, which reflects positively on the world economy. For example, contaminated soil, water, and air cause various diseases such as asthma, diarrhea, and infectious diseases. Cost of illness measures the direct expenses of medication, hospitalization, absenteeism of employees, and on the other hand, the indirect cost of potential inputs and saving from those healthy and productive individuals that add to the economy. Experts expect that reduction of air pollution will reduce the global burden from respiratory infections, heart disease, and lung cancer, and premature death that costs the economy millions of dollars. I still can recall tens of times that my teammate took sick- leave because of her recurrent asthma attacks. Frankly, investing in projects that deal with air pollution is an investment in human health in the meantime that maintains sustainable economic growth.

In conclusion, I believe that governments all over the globe must do spend more on environmental projects rather than economic activities to save the human existence of the coming generation and maintains sustainable economic growth.