Grades encourage students to work harder at school. Do you agree or disagree? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

How students are encouraged to put in effort varies from academic to extracurricular purposes. Personally, I believe that grades foster students to work harder in schools. I feel this way for several reasons which I will elaborate in my subsequent essay.

Firstly, receiving GPA, ranking, or any grades that measure the student’s learning success raise awareness of students, which allows them to be motivated to study harder. When we are faced with numbers that display our ranking, test scores, or report cards, we can clearly recognize the position you are in within that group. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. Four years ago, when I had my first midterm exams returned to me, I was upset to see my grades that lowered compared to those when I was in elementary school. I was below the median, and this event was a turning point for me since looking at my academic performance encouraged me to work harder to raise my grades. As a result, after changing my study habits and reducing the amount of time I use on social media, my grades rose dramatically, and currently, I keep my ranking in the top 25%. If I hadn’t received my grades, I would have been struggling to keep up with lectures and might have been stuck in the lower quartile.

Secondly, students can show their grades to their parents and teachers to receive compliments, to be rewarded, or acknowledged. Exam results and rankings are easy-to-see factors for many students to gain confidence or to raise awareness, thus it is a great tool to show how well they perform at school. Drawing from my experience, because I wanted my parents to feel proud of me academically as well as with other factors such as sports, I first focused on improving my grades. I thought that getting higher grades will not only boost my motivation and my confidence in studies, but will also make my parents delighted. Therefore, I studied two full hours after I came home from school everyday. As a result, my parents praised me for my constant effort I had been putting and how my test results improved in a few months. Like my previous example, this portrays how the presence of grades positively influenced me.

In conclusion, I firmly argue that grades encourage students to put more efforts into school activities. This is because grades allow students to raise awareness, motivation, and confidence, and because it would make students work harder to get positive feedback from their families or teachers.