Honest is the important quality in choosing a leader

From the general assembly of the united nations to customers and retailers, honesty is what people all revere in the society. As a very crucial part for students in universities or high schools to take a glimpse at how the society works, it is very natural for people to believe that leaders of student organizations shall possess such quality. From my perspective, the argument is valid as honesty can justify the power they have and help them work smoothly.

One major reason is that honesty serves as the very foundation of why leaders should acquire their power, a right to do good for their believers. Most of the leaders for a student organization are elected by students through democratic procedures. During that process, they tend to make guarantees over the way they will exercise their power in order to change the campus into a better place, just like politicians. The voters, without a doubt, support a certain person not because the person he or she is, but the promises rendered with good faith. Dishonest leaders betray such bond between people, which means they certainly will not realize or even put effort into the marvelous prospect they once alleged. Therefore, the student's mutual benefits would sure be impaired afterwards.

Another major reason for people to back honest leaders is that they tend to have great performance in terms of their job. Take the student union as an example, the union sometimes asks companies to be sponsors of events in the campus, because the financial supports they provide are essential to hold events in the campus. The contracts signed or drafted by the parties involved needs supervision. An honest and prudent leader will certainly supervise himself, preventing himself from misconducts like misappropriation of the union's fund. Yet, a malicious leader may damage both parties benefit for his own merit. Thus, upcoming events will not be able to carry on and there will be few future partners willing to cooperate with the union. In the long term, certain functions or goals of an organization cannot be achieved and may take years to recover.

Admittedly, some people would argue that abilities to connect with others or firm support from teachers is the important feature when it comes to selecting a leader for a student organization. The argument does have a point since leaders must extend their social network or have teachers to endorse them to make certain things happen. However, it does not mean any good to the voters if the leader is not honest, which means honesty is still what voters shall consider first.

In conclusion, leaders have a burden to possess a great variety of qualities to attract his or her voters. Compared with other qualities, however, honesty is the first priority for students to decide whom to vote for as it can be of their gain later.