the significance of art education

From the delegates voting in the general assembly of the United Nations to old woman working in small retailer, the majority of the society have been educated and admit the significance of education. Thus, it is very natural for people to wonder how to further advance the education system. While some people believe it can be achieved by rendering art and music as a mandatory course for young school children, others believe those classes should still remain as hobbies. From my perspective, art and music lessons should be selective as students are fairly occupied with their current schedule and such lessons are expensive.

The major reason for my propensity is that art and music lessons will put too much burden on students. The contemporary society, with increasingly sophisticated technology and the explosion of information, requires the students to spend more time on their study than the past few generations. For example, my niece, who is only 9 years old, have to stay in school for 8 hours a day and do over 2 hours of homework afterwards. Sometimes she would suggest that her parents should make her rest more as she tends to feel exhausted. However, under such circumstances, the subjects she need to put effort in are merely math, language and science. Provided that art and music are added to her schedule, it is obvious that my niece, along with other students, will be overwhelmed.

However, some people may argue that the school can reduce the time needed to finish a course related to art or music, which will relieve the children's burden. Admittedly, such approach is a way to balance the current situation. Yet, people cannot have a comprehensive understanding towards art and music until they put consistent effort in it. Once the school decides to reduce the time needed, the quality of art and music education will certainly be damaged, which means the time spent can be a waste. Therefore, such approach shall not be adopted.

Another important reason is that music instruments or art related tools are expensive. Parents will have to pay for the music instruments or drawing tools provided that they want their children to practice or finish school assignments at home. Take piano as an example, a mediocre level piano will cost the parents the money they saved for the children's college tuition fee. In addition, since music instruments shall be carefully preserved, parents will have to hire experts or learn how to keep the instruments in a good condition. Whereas some wealthy family can manage to deal with such requirements, a fair number of families may not be able to afford such expenses. Consequently, their children will not perform well on these classes. In other words, it is unfair for students who come from a underprivileged family.

In conclusion, music and art is good to the society, but it shall not be added to a student's schedule. A student should live with more ease and fairness.