Public speaking course should be mandatory in college

From senators voting in the parliaments to old woman advertising products in small retailers, people living in the contemporary world may have to address public speeches from time to time. As a result, some experts suggest that universities should make public speaking a compulsory course. From my perspective, such suggestion is not reasonable as students are already extremely occupied with their major and public speaking skills are only useful to certain groups.

One major reason for my propensity is that students do not have spare time to study public speaking. Take every university student as an example, they bear extraordinary burden under their current schedule. It is very common for students to spend over five hours attending lectures and reading or writing for three more hours when they go back to the dormitory. What it more, when it comes to exam weeks, a fair amount of students will choose to stay overnight in the library in order to perform well in their exams. Provided that an extra compulsory course is added, students are likely to be overwhelmed. In other words, they may not have enough time to satisfy their basic needs, such as having a proper rest or entertainment. Therefore, the course shall not be added.

However, some people may argue that the university can balance the courses by reducing the time required to finish them. Admittedly, such approach can relieve the student's possible pressure, but it fails to take the essence of study into account. The quality of the given courses shall take priority rather than the quantity. If universities decide to reduce the time needed to accomplish one lesson, the lesson's initial goal and outcome will surely be damaged, which means the limited time is still a problem that people cannot solve.

Another significant reason is that public speaking is not essential for every student. Even in areas that the public believe speaking techniques are crucial, exceptions can exist. For example, people tend to believe that lawyers must be eloquent to sell their opinions to the judges or their clients. On the contrary, many lawyers are not involved in such business. Lawyers that conduct non-contentious affairs deal with legal documents and draft solutions for conflicts without rendering cogent arguments publicly. Compared with taking a public speaking course, it is undoubtedly more reasonable for students in such field to emphasis on their legal writing abilities. Similarly, it is not necessary to force students with other majors to participate in a public speaking course.

In conclusion, students nowadays are busy with their study. Thus, the school should consider putting priority in things that a students need most while trying to relieve their burden, instead of making it worse.