In your country, is there more need for land to be left in its natural condition or is there more need for land to be developed for housing and industry? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Land is one of the four major factors of production. Land left in its natural condition seems to me like a total waste of resources for production and development. In Nigeria there’s a high percentage of undeveloped land which could be developed into houses or Industries. There should be increase in the need to develop land into houses or industries because of its importance to the advancement of our civilization.

Establishment of industries provides employment to the job seekers which in turn advances our civilization. Building of houses directly translates to increase in the need for laborers and decreases the number of jobless unskilled workers in the society. The development of land fosters high employment rate which is an important consequence of the advancement of our country.

The development of land into houses and industries also fosters trade in the country. The building of houses for example, requires the purchase of cements, blocks etc. This improves trade between the contractor and the cement trader. Also by building industries on land means there’s increase in production of materials in the country, and this develops trade between the wholesaler of the produce and the manufactures. The increase in trade within the country inspires the establishment of more businesses and improves the economy of the country.

Lastly, the development of land into industries and houses helps improve foreign exchange between our country and other countries around the world. For example industries that processes agricultural products could be established, this processed products could serve as a means of foreign exchange for the country. Also, building of refineries provides the country with the capacity to process crude oil for neighboring countries that lack the necessary infrastructure.

There’s a better reward for development of land into houses and industries than left in its natural condition. Increase in employment rate, foreign exchange, and improved trade within the country are some of the rewards, just to mention a few. These rewards prove as an advancement in our civilization and a means to a better economy.