If you could study a subject that you have never had the opportunity to study, what would you choose? Explain your choice, using specific reasons and details.

If I had the choice to study a subject I never had the chance of studying before, it would definitely be psychology. I know this is a subject most of my friends would have liked having as their subject during high school, but as it was not taught in our school until very recently, many of us, including me, decided to major in psychology once we graduated high school. However, due to unforeseen circumstances, I had to give up my dream and instead pursue a career in something entirely different.

Although I may not have the chance of studying psychology at the moment, I have not given up hope of doing so someday. In the meantime, I sometimes spend my free time reading articles on this subject.

The reason why I find psychology so intriguing is because I wish to understand how the human brain works and how it affects our behavior. The human brain being so complex and boundless has always fascinated me. I wish to understand how every part of the brain works and interacts with the rest of the body, how it responds to changes in environment and how these events differ from person to person.

I have seen people who react differently to similar situations, for example, when something unexpected happens, such as a fire, some people can remain calm while others panic. I wish to understand why people’s reactions differ, what triggers these actions. Does the said event remind them of a past event that was similar to this one? Or how do people remain calm? What are they thinking in such moments? There are so many questions that I have to ask that listing them here would be impossible.

These are the reasons almost anyone wanting to study psychology would give, however, my biggest driver of wanting to study psychology was to help people, especially those who have had childhood trauma. I have experienced such damage myself and this affected my behavior. I used to get angry over small things, I would always be overanxious, stressed and afraid. I paid no heed to my state until it started affecting my physical health. I needed to understand why I was behaving as such and why I was so different from everyone else. After much research and self-talk, I found the root of my problem. Today, I can safely say that I am at a much better place now. I could not remove the trauma but I successfully reduced its impact on me. Now I wish to have formal training and education so that I help others overcome their problems and put an end to these cycles of abuse.

In short, I wish to study psychology so that I can understand the human brain and how it interacts with our body, as well as how our external environment affects our brain and ultimately our behavior. But most importantly, I want to be able to use this knowledge to help and guide others.