If you were given a short period of time to learn something, what would you

choose:

1. learn to play a new sport you never played

2. learn to cook food in a different way

3. learn to do some hand-made work like clothes

Some people prefer learning how to play a new sport given a relatively short period of time. Others like to learn how to cook food in different ways using that period. Still others enjoy doing hand-made work like clothes. For me, I prefer to pick up a new sport whenever I have short period of free time. My reasons are as follows.

To begin with, if I had a short period of time, I need to learn things quickly and efficiently, and learning a new sport for me is faster than learning how to cook. For example, my PE teacher liked to teach us his self-invented sports and exercises. I am gifted in sports, so I could identify winning strategies really fast. Also, I could spot tiny loopholes in sports rules and exploit them. Thus, I remembered that I could dominate the sport games in less than 10 minutes. On the contrary, my dad once taught me how to cook fried chicken. Unfortunately, I had no sense in culinary at all, so I spent more than a month merely learning how to turn on the gas and spread some oils on the pan. Clearly, I can learn a new sport more efficiently than cooking techniques.

In addition, learning new things in a short time requires carelessness, or one might injure himself seriously. Nonetheless, I am not a careless person, so I often hurt myself when learning how to cook. For instance, when I was 15 years old, my mother taught me how to cook bacon, scrambled egg, and macaroni and cheese. Nonetheless, since I was clumsy, I frequently burnt my hand or face accidentally. I remembered once I was even sent to the hospital. On the other hand, I had talents in sports. That is, I had never gotten injured playing basketball or badminton for once. Hence, I have confidence that if I tried new sports, I would not have injured myself.

Last but not least, acquiring new skills in an extremely short period of time needs motivation. Yet, I had no interest in weaving hand-made clothes at all, so I often failed to learn how to do hand-made work. To elaborate, when I took a course called “Introduction to modern fashion industry”, the professor required me to weave a fashionable gown for the final project in less than 3 days. However, I thought that weaving gowns was extremely tiresome because I was barely thinking anything during the process. That is, I felt exceptionally painful and miserable doing the project, so I remembered nothing from the course. On the other hand, I like to move and exercise, so learning new sports is a joy instead of an agony for me. Since I have motivation in acquiring new sports, I can usually pick up new sports quickly.

In conclusion, I will undoubtedly choose to learn new sports if I had a short amount of time because the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.