If you were given a short period of time to learn something, what would you

choose:

1. learn to play a new sport you never played

2. learn to cook food in a different way

3. learn to do some hand-made work like clothes

Some people prefer learning how to play a new sport given a relatively short period of time. Others like to learn how to cook food in different ways using that period. Still others enjoy doing hand-made work like clothes. For me, I prefer to pick up a new sport whenever I have short period of free time. My reasons are as follows.

To begin with, if I had a short period of time, I need to learn things quickly and efficiently, and learning a new sport is way faster than learning how to cook for me. For example, my PE teacher often taught us his self-invented sports and exercises. I am gifted in sports, so I could often identify some strategies really fast. Also, I am able to spot some tiny loopholes and exploit them in some sport rule. Thus, I remembered that I learned the rules and techniques in less than 10 minutes. On the contrary, my dad once educated me on how to cook fried chicken and French-fries. Unfortunately, I had no sense in culinary at all, so I spent more than a month merely learning how to turn on the gas and spread some oils on the pan. Clearly, I can learn a new sport more efficiently than procuring cooking techniques.

In addition, learning new things in a short amount of time requires carelessness, or one might injured himself seriously. Nonetheless, I am not a careless person, so I often got injured when I was learning how to cook. For instance, when I was 15 years old, my mother taught me how to cook bacon, scrambled egg, and macaroni and cheese. Nonetheless, since I was clumsy, I frequently burnt my hand or face accidentally. I remembered once I was even sent to the hospital. On the other hand, I had talents in sports. That is, I had never gotten injured playing basketball or badminton for once. Hence, I have confidence that if I tried new sports, I would not have injured myself.

Last but not least, acquiring new skills in an extremely short period of time needs motivation. Yet, I had no interest in weaving hand-made clothes at all, so I often failed to learn how to do hand-made work. To elaborate, when I was studying in my university, I once took a course called “Introduction to modern fashion industry”. My teacher required me to weave a fashionable gown for the final project in less than 3 days. However, I thought that weaving gowns was extremely tiresome because I was barely thinking nothing during the process. I felt exceptionally painful and miserable when I was doing my final project, so I remembered literally nothing from the course. On the other hand, I like to move and exercise, so learning new sports is a joy instead of an agony for me. Since I have motivation in acquiring new sports, I can usually pick up new sports quickly.

In conclusion, I will undoubtedly choose to learn new sports if I had a short amount of time. This is because I maintain that in order to learn things in a short time, one must learn the concepts quickly, do the activity carelessly, as well as had enough motivation.