If you were given a short period of time to learn something, what would you

choose:

1. learn to play a new sport you never played

2. learn to cook food in a different way

3. learn to do some hand-made work like clothes

Some people prefer learning how to play a new sport given a relatively short period. Others like to learn how to cook food in different ways using that period. Still, others enjoy doing hand-made work like clothes. For me, I prefer to pick up a new sport whenever I have a short period of free time. My reasons are as follows.

To begin with, if I had a short time, I must learn things quickly and efficiently. For me, learning a new sport is faster than learning how to cook. For example, my PE teacher liked to teach us his self-invented sports and exercises. I am gifted in sports, so I could identify winning strategies fast. Thus, I remembered that I could dominate the sports games in less than 10 minutes. Yet, my dad once taught me how to cook fried chicken. Unfortunately, I had no sense in culinary, so I spent more than a month merely learning how to turn on the gas and spread some oils on the pan. So obviously, I can learn a new sport more efficiently than cooking techniques.

In addition, learning new things in a short time requires carelessness, or one might injure himself seriously. Nonetheless, I am not a careless person, so I often hurt myself when learning how to cook. For instance, when I was 15 years old, my mother taught me how to cook bacon, scrambled eggs, and macaroni and cheese. Thanks to my clumsiness, I frequently burnt myself. I often need to go to the hospital to cure the scars. Contrarily, I had talents in sports. I had never gotten injured playing basketball or badminton for once. Hence, I have confidence that I would not hurt myself for trying new sports.

Last but not least, acquiring new skills in a short period requires motivation. Yet, I had no interest in weaving clothes, so I often failed to learn how to do hand-made work. To elaborate, when I took a course called “Introduction to the modern fashion industry” at my college, the professor required me to weave a fashionable gown for the final project in less than three days. Yet, I felt that weaving gowns were tiresome because I was barely thinking anything during the process. That is, I felt exceptionally painful and miserable doing the project. Thus, I remembered nothing from the course. On the other hand, I took a golf course last year. Although I never played golf, I was interested in hitting a small white ball an