Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect in your opinion. Which of the following is the best thing to do?

•Interrupt and correct the mistake right away.

•Wait until the class or meeting is over and the people are gone, and then talk to the teacher or meeting leader.

•Say nothing.

By and large, it is established beyond doubt that conveying correct information wherever presented, such as in a classroom during teaching or at a meeting, is of great importance. In this regard, there are occasions when the listener finds the information incorrect. In such cases, some people find it the right decision to interrupt the speaker right away. However, some may think that it is a better choice to wait until the end of the presentation to inform the presenter of his or her mistake. Yet, there is a third group that decides to act neutrally. I, personally, prefer to stop the teacher or the meeting leader once they make a mistake. In what follows, I will elaborate on my point of view.

To begin with, communicating wrong or inaccurate information leads to misunderstanding of the concept being conveyed among participants. Under such circumstances, interrupting the speaker provides the opportunity to reform what is being expressed and prevents the false impression on the person who pauses the meeting or class alongside other attendees. In addition, looking at this from another point of view, one may presume that the speaker, whether a teacher or a meeting leader, is making a mistake, but there is a possibility that the listener is wrong. Again, by interrupting the class at the moment, one finds out about his or her misinterpretation. A personal example can help bring this notion home. Two years ago, during a mathematics class taught by a teaching assistant, I figured that the teacher is making a mistake in demonstrating a mathematical principle. As soon as he made the mentioned mistake, I raised my hand and explained why he was wrong. After a few minutes of thinking, the teacher acknowledged my point. If I had waited until the end of the class or, even worse, had not said anything at all, he would not have been able to impart the correct concept to students because of his first mistake.

The second point worth mentioning here is that informing the speaker of his or her mistake can lead to the involvement of other participants in the class or the meeting. It is no secret that participating actively in a class brings about more effective learning, and more collaboration in a meeting leads to better outcomes from that particular meeting. In other words, the more involvement among a group of people in a gathering, the more advantageous it will be for every one of the attendees. To exemplify my own experience again, during a meeting when the presenter was explaining the reason behind a failure in work, I supposed that she was not accurate. When I interrupted her, I embarked on a discussion among all my coworkers, leading to better determining the underlying reasons for our failure. If no one had alluded to the point I mentioned, we would not have been able to find a proper solution for that particular problem.

To put it briefly, taking into account the above-mentioned reasons, when a presenter makes a mistake in a speech or class, it is the best choice to correct them immediately. Not only will it inhibit spreading wrong ideas, but also it effectively enhances the meeting or class's outcome.