Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?

•Interrupt and correct the mistake right away.

•Wait until the class or meeting is over and the people are gone, and then talk to the teacher or meeting leade.

•Say nothing.

I believe that classes and meetings are places for discussions and arguments. (What distinguishes a class (or meeting) from reading a book or watching an educative program on TV is that it provides you with the opportunity of participating in conversations, asking your questions and receiving convincing responses right away.) The difference between taking part in a class or meeting with reading a book or watching an educative program on TV is that you have the opportunity to participate in conversations, ask your questions and receive convincing responses right away. Thereby, if I experience some situation as described in this question, I definitely interrupt and correct the mistake for following reasons.

First, what if I'm wrong because of a misconception? Shouldn't I ask questions and clear things up? It's possible that many other participants of the class or meeting are just similar to me. Thus, by asking the question or mentioning the problem instantaneously, I might avoid further misleading for many other people and we will learn something in a more memorable effective way. For example, last time I was at System Dynamics class and while the teacher was teaching, I found something unreasonable in his speech. So, I raised my hand and asked if I'm wrong. The teacher started giving more examples and elaborations and I admitted that I made a mistake. After the class, two of my classmates came to me and mentioned that they also had the same problem as me; however, they were not confident enough and assumed that they would agitate the teacher by asking the question. The key to bringing up such an issue is asking the question in a way that shows you are aware that it may be your fault, not the teacher's. As it is obvious, this was a common mistake among students and many others speculated the issue. In my view, if I hadn't asked, I would have made a big mistake. The least trivial impact of this mistake could have been missing some credits at the final exam if this part of the lecture had been included in the exam.

Second, provided that the lecturer or the teacher is wrong, what if I mention the issue after the class, but they forget to correct themselves the next session? And even worse, what if the meeting is a single one, and is not followed by any other sessions? I believe this is not the core aim of classes and meetings. The goal of these communities and groups are education in a communicative environment. They should have some dynamic atmospheres in which every problematic and controversial matter is discussed by the members, and as a result consequently, all the ambiguities are cleared and resolved.

According to above mentioned examples and explanations, the best choice for participants of a group, such as a class or a meeting, is to be active and take part in or even start discussions. This approach holds out a better chance for more productive classes and more effective meetings. We should not be oblivious to the fact that this requires all the members including students, teacher, and meeting leader to be more receptive and less defensive. In other words, this approach is practical and surefire, if only everyone is patient and eager to learn.