Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teacher were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

While the teachers' importance cannot be neglected, some people think that they are not valued today as they were in the past. In my vantage point, nowadays teachers are not praising as they were before since not only does the role of teachers change but also, technology development has a great effect on the reactions towards teacher.

The first reason which should be mentioned is that teacher's role has been modified. To begin with, in the past people were mostly illiterate so, those who knew how to read and write consider important. The number of teachers in the past was not significant as it is now and, few people attempt to become teachers. Therefore, those few teachers made significant change in people's life by taking literacy to their cities, villages. For instance, many people depended on teachers since they could read their letters or guided them in following the doctor instructions of using drugs. However, today almost everyone knows how to read and write so this leads to make the teacher's role usual and the rise in the number of teachers make them less applaud by others.

The other point which deserved some words is that technology advances change the valuability of teachers. First, many people nowadays can reach to the information through the internet. Thus, they are less dependent on the teachers to learn new things. For example, consider a person who wants to learn Korean as a new language. He can simply learn through Youtube channel or sites which provide the opportunity to learn from basic to advance level. So, this independency on social media disregarded the teacher’s role which makes them less appreciated by others because they think every person consider themselves as the teacher.

To sum up, regarding of the importance of the teacher in life but many of them are not praised as they were in the past since the rate of literacy has been increased and, people become more independent and attempt to learn things by themselves.