What kind of knowledge is more useful?

Through knowledge acquired for thousands of years, we as a human race have been able to achieve the level of development and life standard that exists today in most societies around the world. Every type of knowledge is helpful for different things, however, in my opinion, I believe that specializing in one specific subject is better than having a broad shallow knowledge due to numerous reasons, such as, world changing innovations and ability to get a high paying job.

To begin with, every single invention that has changed the world throughout the history was made by extraordinary people, who specialized in a very specific subject. In fact, based on the evidence, those people had one more thing in common besides specializing, they showed unprecedented interest towards only one subject from a very young age. There are hundreds of examples on this matter. One of the greatest inventors of all time Steve Jobs had a hard time during high school, because he was deeply passionate and spend most of his time trying to understand one specific subject, technology. Which consequently led to the foundation of the most valuable company in the world Apple. Another example is Einstein, who just as Steve Jobs had trouble with school, but because he focused only on physics, he managed to go in history as the greatest scientist ever. These two examples strongly demonstrate how valuable specializing can be to the world.

Secondly, high paying jobs require deep knowledge from potential employees in a specific field. As a matter of fact, in some countries even getting a job at all is hard, if you do not have some sort of specialization. Kosova, the country where i am from, is a perfect example. As a result of high competition for a small number of jobs, only the best students from domicile universities and foreign universities have a small probability of getting employed in their desired jobs . While the rest of not so good students end up unemployed or working minimal wage jobs, like waiters or construction workers. Therefore, specializing becomes a necessity to survive in some countries, but also to get a good job in more developed countries.

I acknowledge the fact that having a broad knowledge is good, however I strongly believe that focusing in a specific subject is better. This is because world has been improved by people with deep knowledge about a subject and because it helps you find a better job.