Imagine that you have been given the opportunity to advise the government of a city or region (area) that you are familiar with to spend more money on ONE thing to benefit the city or region. Which ONE of these do you believe would be the most beneficial for the city or region? Why?

-Providing more affordable housing

-Decreasing (reducing) air and water pollution

-Attracting new businesses to the city or region

‘Cities make life better.’ This is the slogan of Shanghai. If given the opportunity that to advise the government of a city to spend money on one thing that benefit and beautify the city, some people probably suggest the government to spend financial expense on decreasing air and water pollution or attracting new business to the city or region. However, from my point of view, I would strongly advocate that the government should spend the funding on providing more affordable housing.

To begin with, providing more affordable houses could allow more high-tech professionals who live in poor village to go into the city and serve for the society and nation. The phenomenon that many talented people who were born in village in poverty cannot get access to the metropolitan because of the high price of the housing is more and more prevalent worldwide. Science and technology are the first productivity of the development. The sustainable development of the society relies on these experts a lot. However, the high price of housing is now acting like a barrier, impeding the fast pace of the growth of economy. Therefore, government should invest the capital on the housing a lot in order to attract these people to promote the progress of the society.

In addition, attracting new business to the city cannot be solved through government funding. Investors would choose the city to invest judging on the its prosperity and economy, whereas the availability of resource is the foundation for both two things. Business man would likely to established his company and do big deals in economic centers like cities near the ports, intensive in human labor or with abundant natural resource. As far as we know, resource and transportation act as important roles in dominating the whole business programs. Only financial investment by the local government would sometimes not be enough. As a result, attracting new business to the city cannot be easily solved by the government funding.

Finally, decreasing air and water pollution is important admittedly. However, for those cities which cannot meet the demands of the citizens for living a better life should not spend the money on dealing with environmental problem first. Improving people’s livelihood may be the premier task. It would never be too late after citizens could live a more comfortable life in city.

In conclusion, based on the reasons that decreasing air and water pollution and attracting new business to cities cannot ensure the increasing welfare of the city, I totally agree that government should invest money on providing more affordable household.