Imagine that you have been given the opportunity to advise the government of a city or region (area) that you are familiar with to spend more money on ONE thing to benefit the city or region. Which ONE of these do you believe would be the most beneficial for the city or region? Why?

-Providing more affordable housing

-Reducing air and water pollution

-Attracting new businesses to the city or region

The policy run by the government is of vital importance for the development of a country or region: dealing with environmental problems can provide not only citizens but also animals with fresh air and clean water; offering people living in the cities affordable housing can ensure that everyone has their own shelters; attracting new business can create more jobs for city-dwellers. From my perspective, in terms of benefiting the whole city or region most, attracting new business should be given a priority.

First, attracting new business can create more jobs in the cities and thus improve citizens’ living standard because in order to run a company, its boss has to hire employees to work. Meanwhile, local people can be employed by them and thus get paid; Furthermore, those can also enjoy the welfare brought by those companies. Take the case of Shanghai, a widely recognizable city of China that has attracted a number of exotic companies, as an example. In recent years, Tesla has been attracted by Shanghai, setting up its company and hiring hundreds of local people to work for them. In addition, it also help each employee to purchase the medical insurance so that its workers can be supported when they are hurt. J.P Morgan has been also attracted by Shanghai, recruiting people who major in Finance or Economy and providing them with free apartments. As a result, thanks to the increasing number of foreign companies, an increasingly number of people’s life has been changed tremendously.

Second, more exotic businesses can also benefit the government. As a matter of fact, government can receive taxes from those businesses and thus spend these money on something of greater significance, like constructing more lines of subway, building up more shelters for people, offering more grants for people who just lose their jobs and so on. With more exotic businesses being attracted, more taxes can be gained by them and hence the whole social-welfare will be refined. In this case, a virtuous cycle can be created.

Admittedly, a voice arises that reducing air and water pollution can decrease the number of people or animals that suffer from serious health problems caused by heavy pollution in water or air. Additionally, providing more affordable houses enables more people to find a shelter. Ironically, in order to achieve these, governments are required to take years and a large portion of its fiscal budget, which might exert a heavy economical burden on themselves, not to mention that those policies are not as sustainable as attracting more businesses. Since with more people getting paid, they are indeed capable of purchasing houses themselves without any additional policy and taxes gained from foreign companies can be exploited in environmental protection.