taking a lot of time to make an important decision is viewed as a bad quality for a person to have. but now it is considered as a good quality

There are several situations that require people to make an important decision in their life: high school students need to decide which univerisity to enter and what field to major in; workers are required to opt which companies to work in; parents need to make a dicision about what kind of education will their children receive. An undeniable fact is that making a swift decision can actually help people to save time, which mislead some people to generate the opinion that spending much time to make an significant decision is a bad quailty. However, this view suffers from both logical and factual fallcies. From my perspective, I strongly hold the opinion that this is a good quality for people.

First, a big picture of the problem can be seen if people are allowed to have more time to make a decision. As a matter of fact, people are allowed to assemble more information from different sources, which can help them to see the big picture of their issues; On the other hand, people who simply make a swift decision may miss out those precious information and thus fail to think comprehensively. My personal experience can be a compelling example of this. The last time when I was required to pick one offer from different universities, I took a meticulous consideration, surfing each university's website to check their ranks, locations, professors, and alumni to check whether they can ensure me to get a desirable job. Eventually, I decided to go to Duke university in that I found that their professors had a strong academic background and its curriculums were well-developed, which could help me to better cultivate my professional skills so that I could hunt for a good job. Had it not been for those information assembled from their websites, I would choose another university because of its ostensible fame while hardly could it satisfy my needs.

Second, spending much time can allow people to avoid mistakes. This is because long-time thinking enables people to weigh the advantages and disadvantages of their choices. Take the case of NASA, a widely recognizable space-exploration organization that determined whether humans should migrate to asteroids or not as an example. Initially, NASA weighed the benefits of this: Asteroids were rich in minerals and they were easy to reach for humans. However, they also weighed the downsides of their plan: Asteroids' low-gravity environment would make people suffer from serious problems like the loss of mucle mass and bone density, not to mention the considerable amount of fuel for supporting the spaceship. As a result, they decided to give up this plan since its disadvantages outweighed the advantages.

In a nutshell, it's a good quality that humans make an important decision by a meticulous consideration, which might take a long time.