Some students prefer to choose smaller classes with fewer students (professors can know each student's name), while others prefer to take bigger classes with lots of students. Which do you prefer and why?

With the teaching methods developing, we have disparate size of classes at school. Usually, school will offer students choices on the selection on classes——minor class, consisting of up to 20 students, and large class, composed of at least 40 students. Each size of classes renders students the opportunity to learn different things so they should chose which classed to take deliberately. As for me, as far as the chances to contact with professors, and more chances to show ourselves, I strongly hold the opinion that classes with limited number of students should be a better determination.

Admittedly, students can make more friends in big classes. This is because students will be given a volume of activities to get alone with different students. To be more specific, professors usually distribute students randomly to each group whenever there is co-operative working assignment.In this way, they can encounter different co-workers in every group work. In addition, the arrangements of setting chart will alter every semester, making it possible that the surrounding students are not the same. As a result, it enables students to exploit these activities to chat or work together with various students. However, could this relationship be kept on or even strengthened in dynamic environment?

The first reason is based on contact with professors. In minor class, students will contact with professors more and professors will give them more advice on how to refine themselves so that they can improve their study performance and learn more simultaneously. For example, in one small class of Chinese university, thanks to the limited number of students, professors are able to check in and give their feedback to students during their office hours. They can deeply communicate with students on the methods, investigations, and models used in their paper rather than give simple instructions to refine their research. As a result, students can understand more from professors and thus search for material in internet specifically, assimilating more knowledge at the same time.

The other reason is the opportunities to show themselves. Students in the minor classes is not necessary to worry about covering others’ time in academic or entertaining activities. Under this circumstance, they can extend their presentation, give a long speech, or introduce themselves much longer in order to show their ideas better. If students were given more time for a presentation, they could express clearly on how ingenious their models or method used in their research are;If students included more contents in their speech, they could better show how their ideas about particular events are formulated;If students could offer much longer self-introduction, they would better show their talents by plying the musical instruments. However, for the students in the large class, they have to compress their time for these activities for not interrupting others’ time.

In conclusion, drawing upon the reasons I have mentioned before, I firmly believe that minor class is much more beneficial for students. While there are one thousand Hamlets in one thousand eyes’, I firmly believe my opponents will yield after being shown to my article.