Imagine that you plan to donate money to charity to help people in need. If you could give money to only one type of charitable organization, which one of the following would you choose and why?

- An organization that provides food and housing to people in need

- An organization that gives people money to start their own small business

- An organization that provides medical care to people in need

Today’s world, in which we are living, is afflicted with economic problems so much so that few people can live a comfortable life without any concern about their financial condition. Considering the number of people who are in need, charities and benevolent people who want to help these people should allocate their budget wisely and in a way that maximize intended outcome. In this regard, were I to choose among these three given option to allot money, I would definitely choose to give money to people in order to found their own business. There are several clear reason for this assertion, two of which are more significant that are elaborated upon in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, from economic point of view, two other options are considered as cost, while starting a business is considered as an investment, meaning that the money could produce more money if it is used in a business, like a factory. Moreover, giving money as charity to people, sometimes ruin their self-steam, which would result in their lack of confidence in the society, a common root for depression. Considering these, it stands to reason that in order to help the poor, one should give them the opportunity to build their life by working for themselves rather than providing them with food to eat or medicine to use.

Second, if the money from received from philanthropic people is used to build a business such as a factory, it would provide jobs for other in-need-families, thereby providing them with permanent flow of money, since any business require several employee. In this regard there is a famous Persian proverb which equivalent of which in English may sounds like this: if you want to help someone, teach him who to fish rather than giving him a fish; which is a testament for the aforementioned claim.

To sum up, by taking into account all the above mentioned reasons, I believe that in order to help the poor, we should pave the way for them to have their own job. By so doing, not only can they afford their family expenses, but also it would help to save their otherwise ruined confidence.