Independent TOEFL essay - TPO 6: Agree or disagree? Life today is easier and more comfortable than it was when your grandparents were children.

The comfortability of life has varied throughout the human history. In some periods it increased and in some others it reduced. Some people may state that life is harder in the modern era because of the complex issues that human encounters in the society. However, if we investigate about the easiness of living general trend, we will realize that life is much easier nowadays compared with the past. This is mainly due to the two main reasons.

First, the technology is more advance than before. It is because of the abrupt growth that has occurred since the start of the previous century. Many machines that were beyond the wildest dreams of people who lived in distant years are readily available for us. For example, consider the airplanes. Since the period of ancient Greece, people wanted to fly. However, many experiments were encountered defeat in spite of their industrious efforts. Eventually, airplanes were invented in the beginning of 20th century. From that time, the way human travel underwent substantially. I remember my grandfather who told me various stories about his voyages across my country. It usually consisted of many difficulties that were arisen due to the improper means of transport. However, we can travel from a place to another with a lot of convenience nowadays. Nevertheless, this is not the only reason that I think life is easier today.

Apart from the advancement of technology, the types of jobs that people are involved in are less demanding compared with the past. In the time of our grandparents, jobs were more physical, which were more energy-consuming. This is because of the invention of computers and robots that has lessened the amount of human intervention essentially. For example, my father had to work in a factory for more than 12 hours on a daily basis. During this time, he had little time to sit and get some rest. However, todays’ jobs composed of working with computers, which is obviously much easier.

To conclude, from my vantage point, we cannot strike a balance between the level of comfort today and in the past. The life is easier in the modern era because not only is the technology more advance but also the tasks of jobs are easier to do.