Automobiles are one of the most essential parts of every contemporary society. Without transportation, the area which an individual can travel will be very limited. It is stated that the number of vehicles will be lower compared with nowadays. However, I disagree with this statement for two reasons.

To begin with, the price of cars will be lower in future. If we carefully investigate the price of automobiles during the previous decades, we will see that the price of them will be much lower in comparison with the past. This is due to the advancement in technology in conjunction with the more efficient of manufacturing methods. There is not any signal that this trend is going to be stopped in the near future. Therefore, the price of cars will be lower year on year. As a consequence of this, people will be encouraged to purchase more new vehicles. Moreover, the car manufacturing companies are consistently trying to finance their products in various ways. This will in turn motivates people to purchase new cars, especially those who cannot afford to buy one without these incentives. For example, one of my friends had problem finding a suitable car for his budget. Suddenly, he came across a brochure of a dealer which proposed a very good loan with a low interest rate. Hence, he decided to purchase a new car.

Aside from this fact that vehicles are less expensive compared with the past, the population on earth is increasing continuously. Therefore, there will be less available space in public transports, especially in big cities because the rate of growth in public transports facilities is lower than the population increasing. As a result, people will be encouraged to buy personal automobiles in order to alleviate the public transportation problem. For example, there is always a shortage of capacity in Tehran's subway. I know a lot of people who used to travel with subway every day. However, they changed their mind because of hardships they encounter as a result of this shortage in capacity.

In conclusion, although some people may think the number of vehicles will be lower in twenty years, I think that the number of them will be increased because of the lower prices of the cars and population growth.