Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more enjoyable to have a job where you work only three days a week for long hours than to have a job where you work five days a week for shorter hours.

A glance at people's attitudes toward their daily work hours brings to light a question that has been asked several times, namely, whether it is more fun to work more days each week with fewer hours each day or vice versa. Although some people assert that it is more joyful to work fewer days, I, as a recently employed person, believe that I would be happier to work more days a week with fewer hours per day.

The foremost reason why I am supporting this notion lies in the fact that it is important that a person have a stable life pattern. Recently researchers at Caltech University, department of adult behavior, conducted an experiment the result of which conspicuously divulged a link between depression and not having a stable mood throughout a week. As they contend, a negative feeling or idea will mushroom into a person's brain, just like the movie "Inception." In the long-term, no matter how happy a person is on some days, if there are some bad days, that person is at a high risk of getting depressed. If having negative feelings on some days is frequent, as the prompt suggests here --by compelling a person to work hard on some days,-- the person will try to find relief for his suffering, which is usually addiction. What they are suggesting here is that our days should be balanced. Having some good days and some really bad days may seem alright to some people; however, a person needs to have progressive steps toward happiness, so he will be grateful for his life each and every day. Thus, it is important that a person can have sustained happiness; otherwise, it will not be effective let alone fun.

Further, even if we assume that stable daily life is not important, which is not true, another subtle point that one should deem is the fact that the brain's capacity is limited. For example, it is not going to be practical to work after a certain amount of time, each day. Not having considered this fact, a person will have to spend 5-6 hours on a two-hour job. Also, in order to be able to cope with this situation, he must neglect his other essential daily activities such as sleeping, working out, shopping, and to name but a few. Consequently, he will not be as sharp as he is supposed to be and therefore this trend is going to get even worse; in some extreme cases, the person gets extremely touchy, who will get angry very readily(irascible.) Lowering his efficiency, because of inadequate sleep, a person's quality of life will be degraded, which is obviously unfortunate. Despite the fact that there are some solutions for increasing one's yield while he sleeps less, such as taking pills, or for other activities, there will be some consequences. Hence, a person cannot work more than a certain amount of hours, and forcing him will not be fruitful, not the person nor the employer.

Admittedly, some may say it is better to just work for 3 days since one will have a long weekend and travel to some places weekly. Nonetheless, a person who has to work really hard for 3 days, also has to rest at least for 2 days, which is not fun since he will be exhausted. Also, other people that will work for 5 days have weekends and can do whatever they want.

Due to the aforementioned arguments explored in the previous statements, I personally contend that working 5 days a week is better than 3 days. Not only would it let a person have sustainable happiness in his life, but also he will be able to have regular sleep.