Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more enjoyable to have a job where you work only three days a week for long

hours than to have a job where you work five days a week for shorter hours.

People often possess different opinions on the type of working hours. Although some people prefer working three days a week for long hours, I prefer working five days a week for shorter hours. Hence, I disagree with the statement.

First of all, I enjoy having free time, and working five days a week for shorter hours can give me more free time. For example, when I was a research assistant at Academia Sinica, I worked five days a week and I had almost 7 hours a day as my free time from Monday to Friday. Moreover, I can use this free time to read my favorite novel or watch Netflix, and even play table tennis with my friends. Therefore, I can fully enjoy my free time after off duty. However, if I worked three days a week for a long time, I might lose three days of my free time at least. Apparently, working for long hours can not bring about more free time for me.

Secondly, I place emphasis on separating the pressure evenly, and working for a shorter time can allow me to do the separation. For example, when I was an engineer at Micron, I felt less pressure since I only needed to work 6 hours a day. To be more specific, I didn’t need to finish all the missions in a short time but distribute my loading in five days. As a result, I succeeded in separating the pressure evenly and felt not stressful every day. Yet, my friend, Andy, who worked at TSMC, usually asked for working 12 hours or above a day even though he only worked three days a week. Obviously, he was always overwhelmed by the tremendous workload and could not feel relaxed.

Last but not least, I care about living a more regular life, and working five days a week for a shorter time can allow me to have this lifestyle. For example, due to working 5 days a week for 7 hours in ASML, I always get up at seven o’clock to work and sleep at eleven o’clock after leaving my company. Consequently, I live a regular life and gets a healthy body. Nevertheless, my friend, Baskar works in TSMC and the company asked every labor to work for 12 hours a day. Even though he only needs to work three days, he lives an unregular life and destroyed his health gradually. Apparently, this kind of work might make people live irregularly.

In conclusion, I prefer working five days a week for shorter hours. After all, this type of job can help me enjoy my free time, separate my pressure evenly and live a regular life.