It is better to have a broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

All people need to have basic knowledge in different fields and this need will be supported during preschool, school, and high school. However, from a point in your life, you need to choose a special field (or academic area) and try to get more information and skill in that field. This will have many benefits for you; I will bring some of them in this essay.

First, when you want to have information about different fields, you won't be able to get so deep in them; You will be able just to get a limited and usually not so much information about each field. In contrast, when you choose just one field, you can become so skillful and professional in that. Although being informed of different fields seems so nice, it can't make anyone's future.

Second, getting deep in just one field will need so much less time than getting shallow information in many fields. Maybe just spending limited time like bachelor years will be adequate for starting one field and after that just spending some time weekly or monthly, to update your knowledge, will be enough for your chosen field. In contrast, when you choose many academic areas and want to be informative in them, it will get so much more time. Just to start each one you will need at least one to two years; Besides, being updated in different fields gets so much of your time weekly, or even daily.

The most important benefit is the effect of skill in a special field in your career. Most jobs don't need so many fields, and shallow knowledge isn't enough for attaining them. Therefore, to have a good job, you have to focus on one field and try to become professional in it.

Because of all these benefits and many others, you should try to become so professional in one academic area. Even if you are so interested in different fields, you can dedicate your free time to those other fields, not your whole life.